The role of Telescope Live in my astrophotography Journey

Mark Mayer

I'd like to share my astrophotography journey and the role Telescope Live has played in this. I'm a research scientist working in the fields of molecular biophysics and structural biology. Shortly before the start of the Covid epidemic I purchased an inexpensive Newtonian reflector on a manual mount with the vague idea that it would be fun to look at the planets.

I was incredibly naive, and despite decades of experience using technically sophisticated equipment, including synchrotron radiation for X-ray diffraction experiments, I knew nothing about astronomy. I very quickly learned that the gas giants I was able to observe quickly drifted out of the field of view! This very quickly led to purchase of a go-to Alt/Az mount with a 9.25” SCT. Now the planets stayed in view and I thought about learning planetary imaging. I purchased a high speed OSC camera, and learned to use FireCapture, Autostakkert! and RegiStax. My only goal was to do planetary imaging which was fun for a while.

Perhaps because I started with Planetary imaging, which uses brief exposures and high speed video capture, I was intimidated by deep sky imaging, with the need for long exposures, accurate tracking, and hours of imaging per target. But, using the same mount and telescope, I added an APS-C OSC and got my first images. The learning curve was very steep, and eventually I was persuaded that if you were serious about this hobby you needed to learn to use PixInsight. 

PixInsight had, for me, an incredibly steep learning curve, reduced in part by Adam Block’s PixInsight FastTrack for Beginners, followed by more tutorials from Masters of Pixinsight. 

On one of their sessions MOP introduced Telescope Live and offered a discounted rate for new subscribers. So I signed up.