Have I made an error with Oiii data from CHI-1

Liam Quinn

Hi All

I'm not quite sure if this has been processed correctly in PixInsight. 
Just for a bit of background - I'm new to processing in general, been putting myself through crash courses in Pixinsight and am enjoying it. I normally do OSC stuff with my gear. 
Been inspired with all the faint Oiii things being found by others, so I used my credits with CHI-1 to look at NGC 253 here - I've 23 x 5 min Oiii subs and some blue filter ones too (this image has not had continuum Subtraction done yet) 
I was having a few issues with WBPP and think I solve it as it was running through fine - I had all the calibration files in and selected but the master output was not too solid. 
I kept seeing the master flat file issues on it. 
So I tried doing manual steps instead - with image registration, I used cosmetic correction using the Master Dark file - then Image Integration.
As you can see there is this outer ring on this image (hopefully attached) while I wish it was Oiii data I suspect its more a flat fielding problem. 
I did specific dithering on these subs via Adv requests too if that needs to be considered somewhere. 

Am I allowed to share my data? - just wondering if I missed something on the processing side?  
Is there anything special you need to do to process Oiii only data in PixInsight with WBPP? 

Thanks

Liam

NGC253_O3.png

Hi Liam, 

We do an automatic calibration of the frames you find in the archive. It is possible that this halo in the OIII files is an artifact caused by this automatic calibration. Have you tried doing manual calibration using the raw frames and calibration files? 

You can download the raw frames using the Calibration filter in the MY DATA ARCHIVE section (see attached screenshot).