Using AI

I don't edit with Pixinsight because I just started and I'm still learning with PS. Everyone tells me that Pix is better, and I will probably use it in the future, but I would like to deepen my knowledge first. However, I would like to make a comment. I know many astrophotographers, more or less expert, some even of a certain importance, and they all agree that using blurx (and similar) means introducing details not present in your image. The problem is actually a little more extensive if AI is abused. Now, since this is an established fact, why don't we differentiate the two processing methods? Those who use AI to make photos prettier should be in a league of their own. I'm not saying stop progress, but I don't think it's fair to compare the two. It is not a comparison like the analogic vs digital photo was, but using AI really means skipping processing processes (for convenience?) and idealising your photos by adding details. I find it similar to when you use cheats for video games: at first it's cool, but then you lose interest in the game. I hope to spark a discussion battle 🙂 everyone (or almost everyone) knows it, but it's better to stay quiet because good photos get likes

• Like 1

Hi Andrea, 

You make a good point, however, I think this should only be a consideration when it comes to competitions when there could be an advantage using such tools.

Artefacts (artificial details) in images can also be introduced using software like PixInsight if you are not careful selecting the right parameters. I don't think it's always easy to know just how far you can go whether you are using AI or not. Again this only ought to be a consideration within a competition. I don't consider it a problem with images in the gallery as long as it is mentioned that use was made of AI tools.