Hello, let me be the first to introduce myself!

Scotty Bishop

Hi Everyone, and welcome to the forum! Let me be the first to introduce myself here. My name is Scotty and I have been using the Telescope Live platform since early 2021. It has been a real life saver for me because I live very close to one of the Great Lakes, and those things make clouds like you wouldn't believe! In fact we get our best nights when the lake freezes solid, but then dealing with cold and the light that is reflected from the snow is fun.

I first became interested in space as a kid in the 80s and got my first cheap refractor in the late 80s as a Christmas present. I dreamed of either being an astronomer or an astronaut at that time too. I didn't get my first "real" telescope until I was in college in the mid 2000s, a Meade DA130AT alt-az go to 130mm f/7.9 reflector and was absolutely blown away visually, but when I tried to attach a camera, well, lets just say all I ever got was moon pictures with a barlow a few time, and those were a mess of purple and green due to the cheap refractive elements in the barlow that came with my scope. Later on I got DSLR cameras and lenses and tried capturing the moon and I did capture the Venus transit in the 2012. A little after that I got the Pentax GPS unit that also allowed untracked long exposure astro imaging and got it to work a few times, capturing random areas in space and even a 25 second shot of M42 at 500mm. I remember being incredibly proud of that. Looking back it wasn't as impressive as I thought it was. I also bought a Meade LXD75 with an SN10 for more visual stuff and hopefully some astrophotography. Let's just say, that was not an optimal combination of mount and scope, though it was fin for visual.